“… a lifetime spent publicising official secrets by accident …”

Some more #reflections on #statesecurity

I suggested some posts back that it was simply incomprehensible that one tiny imagineering company such as myself, and two SMEs of brilliant trajectory but not at all possessed of a Google-type footprint, have succeeded in conceptualising together what the giants of #ai have failed to do all these years: how to truly human-enhance the future with an #ai in permanent partnership.

I think, on the imagineering side, I HAVE made a significant difference.

On the creative and implementation sides, it’s clear nothing would have happened without these two Liverpool-based, and hugely generous, CEOs I allude to: Chris and Thomas.

But I wonder if what is happening to me is exactly the same as happened in 2003.

I stumbled across truths which came to me as #thoughtexperiment. Using the sheer and simple power of my grey cells, I accessed realities of a Top Secret nature.

The people surveilling me at the time assume, wrongly, that I have privileged access: unreasonably and illegally obtained.

They lock me up using mental-health legislation as a last resort to necessarily protect these secrets.

Any witness which I could later bring to bear needs to be undermined from the start by a #mentalhealth conviction impossible to overturn after three years: a #criminaljustice one would’ve been a fightable matter for much longer.

And so I survive barely, and thrive not at all.

Where easily I could have, because given a minimum of appreciation I am the most generous and collaborative soul on the planet.

But fast-forward to 2019, shall we? And here we see the pattern repeating itself: I have, with the help of others, seen a new kind of #ai – and NOT so from afar: an #ai which proposes the capture, evidencing, and validation of symbolic language. The language we use most comfortably as a species. The language which, if processed as I suggest, could allow EVERYTHING a person thought and concluded during a lifetime to be empoweringly and choicefully shared from deep within, and to the fabulous outside.

Meaning, essentially, that sharing such depth of unworldly comprehension to suddenly worldly discourse, life could be different generation to generation, and human beings might change, from one lifetime to the next.

This idea is so self-evidently neat, NO ONE, however terrified of being fired, could fail to become enamoured of its beauty.

🙂

Or so I would believe. Naively, mebbe.

But if we accept sadly that there is nothing new under the sun, then not only is this a beautiful idea of a beautiful mind, it’s also an idea which others – that is to say, bad and violent others – will already be developing with huge levels of well-funded resource.

Mafias (whether criminal or otherwise) use #symboliclanguage frequently: the tool I propose could, therefore, be as good at making new language to do violence as breaking old language to prevent it.

This, actually, is the nub of my proposed PhD.

And it’s one big reason why we have no alternative to doing our own versions, whether you like the idea of paying for it or not.

And one big assumption: I assume our own side already ain’t too far behind.

But here’s the thing: no one, on ANY side, however much they want us to know, can now afford to tell us face-to-face how wondrously apposite this concept we have delivered truly is.

THIS is the proposal:

It’s a tool, a platform, which allows all humanity to uncover every “why” there ever was, and usefully communicate these “whys” to any other individual or organisation.

And here’s the other thing: no one can tell us we are right, and get us onboard working for the good guys. All they can all do, instead, is watch from a distance, bound by their signatures on documents of grand secrecy, and say to themselves: “There, but for the grace of God, go I.”

Mine is, thus, a lifetime spent publicising #officialsecrets by accident, because simply I have a brain which sees further than the stamp and tape of the reddest is able to prevent.

When Alec, the BBC journalist and academic, once said to me that my situation was an “exquisite cruelty”, this is actually what I now think he meant.

This.

Nothing less.

Nothing more.

And so the show must go on …

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.